MRCI Team Shares Research at Recent Conferences

The MRCI Team has been busy sharing research and knowledge on Carbon Capture, Utilization, and Storage at two recent conferences in Houston, Texas and Columbus, Ohio respectively. (see photo gallery below)

American Association of Petroleum Geologists – CCUS Conference
Houston, TX
A large contingent of geo-scientists participated in the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) Carbon Capture, Utilization, and Storage Conference March 29-31, 2022, in Houston.

Jared Hawkins, Task 4 Lead, co-chaired Session 11 – Infrastructure and presented the poster Accounting for Sensitive Areas When Siting CCUS Infrastructure under Theme 8: Infrastructure.

Amber Conner, Task 2 Deputy Lead, presented the poster Developing a Regional Framework to Define and Assess CO₂ Storage Systems in the Midwestern to Northeastern United States, co-authored by Mark Kelley, Autumn Haagsma, Priya Ravi Ganesh, Neeraj Gupta, Battelle Memorial Institute; Sallie Greenburg, Hannes Leetaru, Illinois State Geological Survey; Steve Greb, Kentucky Geological Survey; Jessica Moore, West Virginia Geological and Economic Survey; Kristen Carter; Pennsylvania Geological Survey; William Harrison, Michigan Geological Repository for Research and Education, Western Michigan University) under Theme 1: Subsurface Storage.

MRCI Team member Jorge Barrios presented the poster Hybrid Approaches for High-Performance Scientific Teams under Theme 7: Non-Technical Considerations.

Sanjay Mawalkar presented the paper Predictive Analysis of Pressure and Temperature in Carbonate Reservoirs, which he co-authored with Priya Ravi Ganesh, Sanjay Mawalkar, Jared Schuetter, Mike Riedl, Sanjay Tamrakar, and Srikanta Mishra. The paper used data from the DOE Regional Partnerships program.

Srikanta Mishra, Technical Director Geo-Energy Modeling and Analytics, Battelle Memorial Institute, kicked off the Thursday program with a keynote address on building data-driven machine learning models for geologic carbon storage applications. He also co-chaired Sessions 9 and 10 – Machine Learning Parts 1 and 2.

In addition to co-chairing Session 6 – Subsurface Storage Part IV and co-authoring a poster presented at the conference, MRCI Task 5 Lead Autumn Haagsma served as the 2022 Conference Chair, devoting many hours over the past year to ensuring the program was informative, inclusive, and enlightening.

Battelle Innovations in Climate Resilience Conference
Columbus, OH
The first Innovations in Climate Resilience Conference, sponsored by Battelle and the NETL, took place nearly simultaneously with the AAPG. The MRCI Team was also well-represented among the hundreds of attendees and dozens of presenters discussing a breadth of solutions for the world’s most pressing issue.

Devin Dickson, who supports both Tasks 4 and 5, presented his first poster as a Battelle chemical engineer on Infrastructure Development for Carbon Capture, Utilization and Storage: An Example from Central Ohio, which he co-authored with Jared Hawkins, Mark Kelley, Neeraj Gupta, and Sallie Greenberg.

Jared Hawkins offered an update on his research through his presentation, Addressing the Challenges of Infrastructure Development for Carbon Capture, Utilization, and Storage. His co-authors were Priya Ravi Ganesh, C. Carman, Kris Carter, Devin Dickson, William Garnes, Glenn Larsen, Brandon Webster, Sallie Greenberg, and Neeraj Gupta.

MRCI co-PI Neeraj Gupta co-chaired the session Case Studies of Large-Scale CO2 Capture and Storage Projects.

And Task 3 Lead Joel Sminchak received the Emerging Innovator Award for his presentation, Greenhouse Gas Emissions Life Cycle Analysis of Carbon Capture and Storage for Industrial Sources in the Midwest Regional Carbon Initiative. His co-authors were Brandon Webster and Jared Hawkins.

Jared Hawkins presents his poster at AAPG CCUS 2022
IMG 7457
Jorge Barrios-Rivas presents his poster at AAPG CCUS 2022
IMG 0230
Srikanta Mishra delivers his keynote address at AAPG CCUS 2022
Devin Dickson presents his poster at the Innovations in Climate Resilience conference
Devin Dickson presents his poster at the Innovations in Climate Resilience conference
Joel Sminchak delivers his Emerging Innovator Award-winning presentation at Battelle’s Innovations in Climate Resilience conference
Joel Sminchak delivers his Emerging Innovator Award-winning presentation at Battelle’s Innovations in Climate Resilience conference
Amber Conner presents her poster at AAPG CCUS 2022
IMG 0272
Sanjay Mawalkar presents his research at AAPG CCUS 2022
IMG 0007
Autumn Haagsma delivers the opening address at the AAPG CCUS 2022 conference
Jared Hawkins delivers his presentation at Battelle’s Innovations in Climate Resilience conference

Additional Learning

contact icon link icon
Scroll to Top